Stats and Awards

NASCAR Cup Series (All ranks current as of Rusty’s retirement in 2005.)

  • 1989 Series Champion
  • 1984 Series Rookie of the Year
  • 55 Victories—9th all-time
  • 19,972 Laps Led—8th all-time, 5th in NASCAR’s modern era
  • 16 consecutive seasons with at least one win (1986-2001)—T-3rd longest streak all-time
  • 17 top-ten finishes in final standings, including 10 straight seasons (1993-2002)
  • Six Road Course Victories—T-3rd all-time
  • 25 Short Track Victories—4th in modern era
  • 369 Lead Lap Finishes—5th all-time, 4th in modern era
  • 36 Pole Positions—9th in modern era
  • 706 Starts—11th in modern era
  • 697 Consecutive Starts—2nd all-time
  • 202 Top-Five Finishes—T-12th all-time, 7th in modern era
  • 349 Top-Ten Finishes—T-11th all-time, 7th in modern era
  • Winner, 1989 NASCAR All-Star Race
  • Winner, 1998 Bud Shootout at Daytona
  • Winner, 1996 NASCAR Suzuka Thunder 100 at Japan’s Suzuka Circuit

International Race of Champions

  • 1991 Series Champion
  • 4 victories—(1989: Daytona; 1991: Talladega, Michigan, Watkins Glen)
  • Won three consecutive races in 1991—a series record for season victories
  • By winning at Daytona in 1989, Wallace became the first driver in history to win an IROC event from the last starting position
  • Invited to participate in nine series (1989, ’90, ’91, ’92, ’94 ’95, ’96, ’99, 2000)

Other Major Championships and Accomplishments

  • 1983 American Speed Association Championship
  • 1980 United States Auto Club (USAC) Tony Bettenhausen Memorial Trophy winner—outstanding driver in USAC Stock Car Division
  • 1979 USAC Rookie of the Year
  • 1973 Central Racing Association Rookie of the Year
  • Over 200 feature race victories, 1974-1978

Other Racing-Related Honors and Awards

  • 2013 Inductee, NASCAR Hall of Fame
  • 2009 Inductee, National Motorsports Press Association’s (NMPA) Hall of Fame
  • 2005 Winner, NMPA Myers Brothers Award for outstanding contributions to the sport
  • 1988 and 1993 NMPA Driver of the Year
  • 2005 NASCAR Illustrated Person of the Year
  • 2005 American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association (AARWBA) Rick Mears “Good Guy” Award for outstanding cooperation with the media
  • Member, 1988, 1989 and 1993 AARWBA All-America Teams
  • Voted one of NASCAR’s 50 Greatest Drivers as part of NASCAR’s 50th Anniversary
  • Inductee, Missouri Sports Hall of Fame; named Missouri Sports Legend—one of only 20 athletes upon which the honor has been bestowed
  • 2011 Inductee, St. Louis Sports Hall of Fame
  • Current Nominee, International Motorsports Hall of Fame

Other Awards and Recognitions

In his final year on the NASCAR circuit, Rusty Wallace left fans with an appreciation for his many contributions to NASCAR’s growth and popularity. Nine NASCAR tracks permanently honored Wallace, and over a dozen state, city, and county seats of government declared race day as an officially recognized Rusty Wallace Day. Following is a small sampling of such honors:

  • State of North Carolina—The Order of the Long Leaf Pine with rank of Ambassador Extraordinary—the state’s highest civilian award
  • State of Delaware—The Order of the First State—the state’s highest civilian award
  • State of Delaware—Proclamation by Governor Ruth Ann Minner, declaring Rusty Wallace Day in the State of Delaware
  • State of Texas—Proclamation by Governor Rick Perry declaring Rusty Wallace Day in the State of Texas
  • State of Georgia—House of Representatives Resolution 989
  • State of Georgia—State Senate Resolution 466 honoring Rusty Wallace
  • State of Alabama—Proclamation by Governor Bob Riley declaring Rusty Wallace Day in the State of Alabama
  • Commonwealth of Virginia—Proclamation by Governor Mark Warner declaring Rusty Wallace Day in the Commonwealth
  • City of St. Louis—Key to the City, Proclamation by Mayor Francis Slay declaring Wallace Day in the City of St. Louis
  • Boy Scouts of America—Silver Antelope Award, in recognition of outstanding service to youth
  • Bristol Motor Speedway—Rusty Wallace Grandstand dedicated, induction into “Walk of Fame”
  • California Speedway— Induction into “Walk of Fame”
  • Charlotte Motor Speedway—Rusty Wallace Way dedicated on track property, induction into “Walk of Fame”
  • Daytona International Raceway—Induction into “Legends Row”
  • Dover International Speedway— Induction into “Walk of Fame”
  • Gateway International Raceway—Wallace Family Grandstand dedicated
  • Pocono Raceway—Permanent “rock” monument honoring Rusty dedicated
  • Sonoma Raceway—Inaugural inductee for “Wall of Fame”
  • Talladega Superspeedway—Induction into “Walk of Fame”
  • Texas Motor Speedway—Rusty Wallace Lane dedicated on track property